TM351 Week 8

adRFDRzMWell … bit of a gap there. So I spent the last 3 weeks getting further and further behind. And then life got in the way a bit.

Turns out that, for me anyway, I really need to understand Python, pandas, sql, JSON, lambda OpenRefine, regex, command line etc. a lot better. Although you don’t need to be an expert in these for the course (except for a familiarity in Python – which I didn’t have), I believe it’s helpful to understand how all these things slot together. Once I understand that a bit better, I think I’ll be able to get on with the business of actually playing with the data and fully learning and exploring the course – which I love.

I didn’t want to waste any more time Googling code syntax and panicking about falling further behind, and so I’ve deferred the course until October. Although that adds a year to my degree (as I only do one module a year), it gives me six months to get a better handle on all these concepts. And so I’ll use this blog to post about how I’m learning all these things.

I’ve been given some great resources by my tutor for some summer reading; namely The Open Source Data Science Masters, Introducing Python by Bill Lubanovic, How to use the command line, and Python for Infomatics, which should keep me busy!

It feels strange to have gone from ‘ohmhgod I’m so far behind, the tma deadline is approaching, aargghh!!!!’, to ‘and relax’ in one short phonecall. But it’s definitely the right call for me. I’ve never done anything like this before – I love a challenge, and I’m not a quitter. But I’m also a card-carrying member of the 100% Perfectionist Club, and I simply can’t hand in assignments if they’re not the very best that I can do. And, with a summer’s revision, I will do much better.

Leave a Reply

